泰姬酒店集团 hero

泰姬酒店集团

紧贴印度市场变革的三大品牌

27653777-H1-FRONTDESK

市场机遇

印度酒店市场瞬息万变。中产阶层的迅猛增长和国内外游客商务及休闲旅游的激增结合在一起。各国际酒店品牌雄心勃勃,纷纷在南亚次大陆建立业务。塔塔(Tata)旗下的泰姬酒店及度假集团(THRP)是印度最著名的豪华酒店品牌,他们意识到在新的市场细分抢占一席之地的机遇来了。

  • 预计到2025年,中产阶层将达到印度总人口的41%
  • 到2025年,印度国内富豪阶层人口将达到2400万

品牌大杂烩

多年机会主义式的业务增长稀释了泰姬品牌,模糊了形象。泰姬集团的酒店产品组合,所有都以“泰姬”为名的酒店, 提供由二星级到五星级酒店体验 。 在竞争最为激烈的时刻,泰姬品牌的“大杂烩”形象令顾客感到混淆和困惑。

缺乏情感吸引力

品牌资产评估(BAV)数据及小组座谈会结果显示,尽管泰姬品牌依然保持着名牌的超然地位,她却正在逐渐失去对于顶级奢华品牌来说至关重要的情感吸引力

印度在国际上的印象往往被认为既不好客又不积极,然而这两点恰恰是对推动酒店品牌声望建设最重要因素。

通过建立好客、积极的品牌形象,泰姬既能重新获得旅客的青睐和爱戴,同时也能减轻关于印度的负面国家形象。

Hi_H2HQN_61966667_Vintage_Daimler_Outside_Taj51BG_2014_edit

将“泰姬”品牌保留在奢侈层面

基于我们的分析,朗涛概括出六大战略原则:

  1. 从单一品牌架构转向太阳行星品牌架构。
  2. 仅将“泰姬”品牌保留在奢侈领域。
  3. 为其他可行的细分市场建立明确的新品牌。
  4. 慎重管理并限制“泰姬”名称的使用。
  5. 区分奢侈酒店品牌及公司实体。
  6. 将公司实体命名为“泰姬集团”。

扩展品牌组合

我们给泰姬建议的品牌架构是属于太阳行星品牌架构,这种架构介于单一品牌架构和多品牌组合架构之间。位于中央“太阳”位置的是泰姬品牌,保留顶级奢华品牌的地位。泰姬集团旗下的两个新品牌是:由泰姬背书的高端品牌泰姬薇薇塔(Vivanta by Taj),以及中端商务旅行品牌盖特威(The Gateway Hotel)。第三个新品牌,Ginger则作为单独子公司提供二星级经济住宿服务且不与泰姬名称关联。

限制“泰姬”名称的使用

朗涛建议从视觉上和言语上将泰姬集团(企业品牌)和泰姬酒店(豪华酒店品牌)区别开来。在建立起泰姬集团的企业形象之后,我们发展了一套决策树以限制并更好管理“泰姬”名称在新物业和新服务命名中的使用,例如泰姬航空。

属于每一位客人的品牌

27642420-H1-H0KNKL1E

奢华酒店的新机遇

通过将泰姬品牌保留给产品组合中最顶端的酒店,朗涛找到了强化顾客奢华体验的方式。我们发现了几个可拥有的关键机遇,包括传统的dvaar paalaka问候、泰姬开床选择、皇家擦鞋服务以及热情欢送。

“热情的durbaans给外国游客带来了一种期待。客人即将开始一段印度式体验:他们不仅仅是走进了一扇旋转门。”

Divia Thani Daswani, Condé Nast Traveller India网站编辑
Vivanta_101 Hi_43568985_Fa_ade_Night

针对高端顾客的泰姬薇薇塔酒店

泰姬薇薇塔的目的是抓住新兴的高端细分市场。这些更年轻、更都市化的旅客们追求的是新鲜、现代、以及新科技和数字媒体的事物 。

朗涛为这家时尚的智能酒店定制了命名、形象识别、品牌定位、客户旅程、观与感等服务。酒店还有许多贴心服务,包括机场接机服务、舒缓的音乐以及按摩椅。STR公司的报告及盖洛普公司(Gallup)的调研显示,跟所有竞争对手相比,泰姬薇薇塔的平均客房收益(RevPAR)和顾客参与度最高。

Condé Nast Traveler 网站将泰姬薇薇塔列为世界第三最佳酒店品牌

Gateway_Hotel_101 55542505-H1-Gateway_Kolkata_-_Facade_Close-up

针对中端市场的盖特威酒店

印度市场的蓬勃发展带来了大量国内商务旅客。泰姬集团创立全国性的三星酒店品牌盖特威酒店,以填补其产品组合在这一细分市场的缝隙。虽然隶属于泰姬集团旗下,但盖特威并没有泰姬品牌的背书,其形象跟泰姬的奢华品牌定位是完全分离的。

盖特威的品牌理念“精益求精”简洁明确地表达了酒店的承诺;整洁、清爽的形象标识系统所体现的是现代化的环境以及便捷无忧的服务。

根据尼尔森公司的调研,盖特威开业仅仅一年之后就成为了印度第三强大的品牌。

2.Ginger.1BIG 2-New-Image1

针对预算节约型顾客的Ginger品牌

二星级经济酒店品牌Ginger专注于印度二、三线城市。在这些地方,酒店行业一直混乱且不可预测。为了避免泰姬品牌跟经济型连锁酒店联系起来,Ginger作为独立的子公司在泰姬集团覆盖范围之外运营。

Ginger的名称和视觉标识,能唤起一种简单、实在的酒店体验,在印度风格和国际标准之间掌握到一种平衡,而这正是许多印度品牌想要达到的理想优势。洗衣服务、健身设施以及商务中心等多功能服务正能够满足这市场细分的需求。

南亚旅游博览会(The South Asian Travel Tourism Expo)将Ginger评为印度最佳经济连锁酒店。

Hi_H0D8B_38900171_Service_Shot_3

激励员工参与

由于许多员工都为泰姬品牌而感到自豪,因此领导层在帮助员工了解并接受新品牌架构的时候面临着挑战。核心品牌构建团队竭力为每一利益相关团体解释说明,并在公开发布新战略之前为其树立信心。朗涛团队专门为其制作了品牌精神手册以及一部20分钟长的品牌视频,以协助泰姬集团完成这个转变过程。

27642440-H1-H0KNKL1M

蒸蒸日上

集团内部对新架构的接受情况非常好,泰姬的母公司印度酒店集团(IHCL),最近刚被评为“盖洛普最佳工作场所”。新品牌架构战略的成功重新推动了公司的国际扩张战略目标,并有希望在未来五年使其客房数量翻一番。

瑞士信贷银行(Credit Suisse)将泰姬评为27个明日伟大品牌之一,有望在未来三到五年显著地超越市场表现。

Taj Group hero

Taj Group

Three new brands for a changing India

Taj Group Hotel Front Desk

Opportunity in the market

India’s hospitality market was in major flux. Explosive growth in the middle class was joined by a huge surge in business and leisure travel among domestic and foreign tourists. Ambitious international hotel brands were establishing themselves on the subcontinent. Tata-owned Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces (THRP), India’s most celebrated luxury hotel brand, realized it had an opportunity to serve new segments of the market.

  • 41% Of the population expected to be middle class by 2025
  • By 2025, domestic luxury class will reach 24 million

A mixed bag of brands

The Taj brand had been diluted by years of opportunistic growth. The hotels in its portfolio—all Taj branded—offered two-star experiences, five-star experiences, and everything in between. Taj’s “mixed bag” of brands was confusing customer perceptions at a time when competition was fiercest.

Taj Group's Attributes as Surveyed Across Indian Adults

Missing emotional appeal

BrandAsset Valuator (BAV) data and focus group findings revealed that although the Taj brand retained celebrity status, it was losing the emotional appeal critical for a top-end luxury brand.

India was perceived internationally as neither welcoming nor responsive, two of the most powerful drivers of esteem for hotel brands.

By building on perceptions of its brand as welcoming and responsive, Taj could both regain travelers’ love and mitigate the negative image of India.

Vintage Daimler Outside Taj Group Hotel

A roadmap for the future

Based on our insights, Landor outlined six strategic principles:

  1. Move from a mono-brand structure to a sun-and-planets model.
  2. Reserve the Taj brand for the luxury segment only.
  3. Create distinct brands for other viable market segments.
  4. Carefully manage and limit the use of the Taj name.
  5. Differentiate between the luxury brand and the corporate entity.
  6. Name the corporate entity Taj Group.
Indian Hotel Group and Taj Group Venn diagram

New brands clarify tiers of service

Our recommendation for Taj’s brand architecture was a sun-and-planets model, falling between a branded house and a house of brands. At the center, the “sun” was Taj, remaining a top-tier luxury brand. Two new brands would fall under the Taj Group umbrella: one a full-service, Taj-endorsed upscale brand (Vivanta by Taj) and the other a mid-market business travel brand (The Gateway Hotel). A third new brand, Ginger, would offer two-star economy stays as a separate subsidiary not connected with the Taj name.

Reserving Taj for opulence

Landor recommended that Taj distinguish the Taj Group (the corporate brand) from Taj HRP (the luxury hotel brand), both visually and verbally. After creating a Taj Group identity, we developed a decision tree to limit the use of “Taj” in naming new properties and services, such as Taj Air.

A brand for every guest

Taj Group Brand Architecture
Luxury at Taj Group Hotels

New opportunities for luxury

With the Taj brand reserved for the most opulent hotels in the portfolio, Landor found ways to heighten its luxury experience for guests. We identified several key ownable opportunities, including the traditional greeting of the dvaar paalaka, the Taj Turndown menu, the Royal Shoeshine, and the Fond Farewell.

“The welcoming durbaans set a certain expectation for foreign visitors. Guests are about to start an India experience; they are not just entering a set of revolving doors.”

Divia Thani Daswani, editor Condé Nast Traveller India
Branding for Vivanta, by Taj Group Facade of Vivanta Hotel, by Taj Group

Vivanta by Taj for the upper upscale guest

Vivanta by Taj was designed to capture an emerging high-end segment. This younger, more cosmopolitan group of travelers wanted something new, contemporary, and technologically savvy.

Landor created the name, identity, positioning, customer journey, and look and feel for this stylishly smart hotel. Amenities include airport pickup, soothing music, and massage chairs. STR reports and Gallup surveys show that Vivanta has the highest RevPAR and customer engagement among its competitive set.

Condé Nast Traveler named Vivanta by Taj the third best hotel brand in the world.

Gateway Hotel (by Taj Group) Marketing Collateral Gateway Hotel Kolkata (by Taj Group) Facade Close-Up

The Gateway Hotel for the mid-market traveler

India’s booming market had given rise to a large number of domestic business travelers. Taj Group created the Gateway Hotel, a three-star national brand, to cater to this segment and fill the gap in its portfolio. Although it falls under the corporate umbrella, The Gateway is not endorsed by Taj, keeping its identity separate from the Taj’s luxury positioning.

The Gateway brand idea, Welcome perfection, succinctly expresses the hotel promise, and a clean, crisp identity system carries the message of contemporary environments with hassle-free service.

According to Nielsen research, Gateway was the third strongest brand in India only a year after its launch.

Ginger by Taj Group Hotel Interior Ginger by Taj Group Hotel Exterior

Ginger for the budget traveler

Ginger, a two-star economy brand, focuses on secondary and tertiary cities in India, where the hospitality sector can be disorganized and unpredictable. To avoid having Taj associated with a budget chain, Ginger functions as a separate subsidiary outside the purview of the Taj Group.

Its name and visual identity evoke a simple, practical hotel experience that strikes a balance between being Indian and being international—the sweet spot many Indian brands hope to achieve. Properties feature laundry and gym facilities as well as business centers to meet a variety of needs.

The South Asian Travel Tourism Expo named Ginger the best budget hotel chain in India.

Taj Hotel Group Service Shot

Engaging employees

Leadership faced a challenge in selling the new brand architecture to its staff, since many employees felt proud of working for the Taj brand. The core branding team painstakingly engaged each stakeholder group to instill confidence in the new strategy before launching publicly. Landor produced a brand spirit book and a 20-minute brand film to help employees embrace the transition.

Taj Group View From Hotel

Growing success

Internal acceptance of the new structure has been extraordinary, and IHCL, Taj’s parent company, was recently named a Gallup Great Workplace. The success of the new brand architecture strategy has renewed the company’s commitment to international expansion, and it hopes to double its inventory in the next five years.

Credit Suisse named Taj one of only 27 Great Brands of Tomorrow expected to significantly outperform the market in the next three to five years.