英国石油公司 hero

英国石油公司

品牌引航变革

Before-after-BP-2

转折点 

英国石油公司(BP)在经过一系列并购整合后,成为世界第三大石油公司。但时任CEO的约翰·布朗(Lord John Browne)勋爵并未仅仅将目光停留在经济利益上。1997年,他公开承诺,BP公司将在2010年或之前减少10%的温室气体排放量。由此,BP公司走上了投资太阳能和替代能源并与汽车制造商携手提升发动机效能之路。而此时的布朗勋爵,还需要树立一个全新的品牌形象,向世界展示焕然一新的BP公司。

“女士们先生们,气候变化已是不争的事实,我们需要承担部分责任。”

—约翰·布朗勋爵(Lord John Browne)
BP_Master-Case-2.7

以品牌主导的企业

“超越石油”——BP公司这句新宣言,如众希冀地成为了BP的新愿景、新战略。BP公司的品牌价值观分别是:创新思维、性能保证、锐意进取、环保先锋。“超越石油”的品牌与四大核心价值观充分配合,共同为企业内部举措和对外传播活动创造了一个平台。BP的所有品牌活动都向外界传递其“超越石油”的承诺。

BP-2

改革标志

朗涛所设计的太阳神品牌标识传神演绎了BP公司的追求和愿景。一朵设计师笔下的太阳花代表了太阳的能量,绿色体现了公司品牌的环保价值观。品牌标识的一个简单转变,彰显了BP公司成为了领先的能源方案供应商的决心。

BP_177

创建品牌倡导者的网络

新品牌在内部发布会上一经推出,便激发了员工对新品牌及其未来无限可能的热烈憧憬。 Landor在19个国家培训了超过1400名品牌倡导者,让他们多方面充分了解“超越石油”的承诺,他们利用网站、品牌宣传片、内部员工杂志等多种方式,向其他在职员工宣讲推广新品牌、新形象。

内部发布会后9个月,BP公司97%的员工了解了品牌含义,90%的员工认同BP的发展方向。

Helios-3

信守品牌承诺

公司为每个团队都提供了成套的行动方案,帮助他们切实忠于并履行“超越石油”的品牌承诺。公司还设立了“年度太阳神奖”,用以嘉奖在贯彻及推广品牌方面对公司和外部社会有重大影响的员工。他们的行动进一步印证了BP公司将“超越石油”的信念自始至终贯彻落实于业务的经营 。

bp_208

一缕清新空气

我们对BP的公司环境细节也进行了重新设计,甚至于绿色植物,都能让你从踏入公司大门那一刻起,就能感受到BP的品牌故事。我们在BP公司的每一间办公室都一定放置芦荟,因为芦荟是最能释放氧气的植物。对于员工来说,他们极具启发性,对于访客来说,它们是开启话题的极佳题材。

BP_Ultimate_road_tanker

投资未来

BP着手投资替代能源合作伙伴并寻求更清洁的能源解决方案。六年来,BP公司实现“超越石油”愿景的每一步,都有朗涛的全程参与。

新形势,新应对

为了补偿墨西哥湾漏油事件的受害者,BP公司不得不出售旗下许多替代能源公司并亟需重塑品牌。一个全新的品牌驱动器:“以更好的方式提供能源”,标志着BP公司回归核心业务,重新强调操作安全。

BP-3
BP_2012_TN_ticket_inserts

信心重建

伦敦奥运会是BP向世界展示其关切安全、尊重社区的绝佳机会。通过赞助运动员、支持奥运基础设施建设,以及致力减少观众于观赛旅途中产生的温室气体排放等措施,BP告诉世界它正在努力改变,做到最好。

危机重生

虽然墨西哥湾漏油事件造成BP的品牌相关性和品牌地位大幅下跌,但BP坚实的品牌基础、积极迅速回应的态度,都让其品牌能够从危机中恢复回来。

BP hero

BP

Brand as a beacon of change

Before-after-BP-2

A defining moment 

A series of mergers and acquisitions made British Petroleum the third largest oil company in the world. CEO Lord John Browne seized the opportunity to look past the balance sheet. In 1997, he publicly committed to reduce BP’s greenhouse gas emissions by 10 percent by 2010. This led to investments in solar power and alternative energy and partnering with automakers to improve engine efficiency. To broadcast the new face of BP to the world, Browne came to Landor for a new brand.

“Ladies and gentlemen, climate change is a reality and we are partly responsible.”

Lord John Browne
BP_Master-Case-2.7

A brand-led business

Beyond petroleum became a rallying cry for BP’s new vision and strategy. Together with the brand values innovation, performance, progressiveness, and respect for the environment, the concept created a platform for internal initiatives and external campaigns—all aimed at delivering the promise of Beyond petroleum.

BP-2

A mark of change

The Helios identity created by Landor captured BP’s aspirations. A stylized sunflower symbolizes the sun’s energy, while the color green reflects the brand’s environmental sensitivity. With this simple shift in identity, BP staked its claim as a leading provider of energy solutions.

BP_177

Creating a network of champions

The internal launch raised excitement about the new brand and its possibilities. Landor trained more than 1,400 brand champions in 19 countries around the promise of Beyond petroleum. These champions then spread the word among remaining staff with the aid of websites, brand films, newsletters, and more.

Nine months after launch, 97 percent of BP employees were aware of the brand idea, and 9 out of 10 agreed that BP was heading in the right direction.

Helios-3

Keeping the brand promise

Teams were given toolkits with activities to help them remain true to Beyond petroleum. Annual Helios Awards honored employees whose on-brand actions had an impact on the company or the wider community—reinforcing BP’s commitment to Beyond petroleum as a way of doing business.

bp_208

A breath of fresh air

We redesigned BP’s physical environments right down to the plants—starting with its brand story the minute you stepped in the door. Aloe plants, the most efficient plant producers of oxygen, became fixtures in every office. For employees, they were inspiring. For visitors, they were conversation starters.

BP_Ultimate_road_tanker

Investing in the future

BP began to invest in alternative energy partnerships and develop cleaner solutions. For six years, Landor was there every step of the way to help make Beyond petroleum a reality.

Adapting to new circumstances

BP was forced to divest many of its alternative energy ventures to compensate victims of the Deepwater Horizon accident, and took action to redefine its brand. A new Brand Driver, Providing energy in better ways, signaled a shift back to its core business and a renewed emphasis on operational safety.

BP-3
BP_2012_TN_ticket_inserts

Rebuilding trust

The London Olympics was the perfect opportunity to show the world that BP was concerned about the safety and respect of the community. By sponsoring athletes, supporting the Olympic infrastructure, and offsetting spectators’ travel emissions, BP showed the world it was working to make things right.

Rebounding from crisis

BrandAsset Valuator (BAV), Landor’s proprietary database of consumer brand perceptions, shows that although the Deepwater Horizon disaster caused dramatic drops in BP’s relevance and esteem, its strong brand foundation and its willingness to respond—and respond quickly—enabled the brand to begin a recovery.