灵动性悖论

今天的市场变化比以往更为迅速。随着技术的发展,传统的市场准入壁垒降低,革新产品类别的概念随时可能来自其他行业或者世界其他地方。几年前,没有人能料到Zipcar网络分时租车和Airbnb旅游短租服务会撼动行业的根基。

同时,品牌的行为以前所未有的开放姿态接受着大众监督。在世界一角发生的事情,其他地方很快就会知道。例如,印度童工事件会影响到印第安纳波利斯市居民的看法,泄密手机视频会迅速被数百万人看到。

品牌经理面对着持续变化的商业策略、不断革新的产品类别、日益扩展的接触点和更加精明的消费群体。尽管如此,一些品牌仍然拥有大量忠实用户

在朗涛,我们通过研究数据、与消费者交流、分析企业操作模式等方法找出一些品牌克服挫折取得成功的方法和原因。这些发现能帮助其他品牌准确瞄准难以捉摸的移动目标:即与当今迅速发展的市场时刻保持灵活的关联性。

PARADOX-CN2

掌握灵动性悖论

我们的研究表明,要想在今天取得成功,品牌必须拥抱灵动性悖论,很好地掌握两种表面相互矛盾的策略,即尊重核心原则,同时通过 不断发展演化来保持新鲜感和相关性。

朗涛的分析表明,能实现这种平衡的灵动品牌都有六种特性

Attributes-animation-web-800

这品牌展望未来,倾听市场并正面接受挑战。这是在新时代中的全新品牌模型。

阅读完整报告了解年度灵动品牌以及他们获选的原因:

Download the printer-friendly PDF 下载打印版本(13MB)

The Agility Paradox

Today’s markets are changing more rapidly than ever before. As technology advances, traditional barriers to market entry fall. A category-transforming idea could arrive from outside the industry or across the globe—at any minute. Only a few years ago, no one could have anticipated how quickly Zipcar and Airbnb would shake the foundations of their industries.

At the same time, brands’ actions have been laid open to public scrutiny in ways previously unknown. What happens in one corner of the world can no longer be kept from another. A child labor scandal in India affects opinion in Indianapolis. A leaked cellphone video goes viral with millions of views.

Brand managers are facing a new reality, trying to steer brands in a context where disruption is the norm. They face perpetually evolving business strategies, shifting categories, an expanding array of touchpoints, and an ever-savvier mix of customers. In spite of all this, some brands are getting it right.

At Landor, we set out to investigate. We studied the numbers, talked to consumers, and analyzed businesses to determine how and why some brands are succeeding against the odds. We found that today’s strongest, best-performing brands are striking a balance. These companies are adaptive and nimble while remaining fixed on core tenets, nurturing a harmonious relationship between two divergent dimensions. We call this phenomenon the agility paradox.


Mastering the agility paradox

Landor’s Global Agile Brand Study found that in order to succeed today, brands must embrace this agility paradox by mastering two contradictory strategies—honoring core tenets while simultaneously evolving to stay fresh and relevant.

The brands achieving this balance share six behaviors:


Their brand managers look to the future, listen to the marketplace, and meet challenges head-on. This is a new branding model for a new world. 

Read the full report to see this year’s top agile brands and why they’re winning:

Download the interactive PDF (13MB)

Download the printer-friendly PDF (13MB)